Favourite books of 2022

I didn’t read as much as I did last year, but at over a book a week I was pretty happy with how much I got through!

I don’t like the idea of top 10’s or top 5’s, especially because the books I read cover a range of themes and genre’s which are hard to compare. So instead of doing that I thought I’d just highlight a few of my favourites from this year. You can see everything I read this year and my ratings (but not reviews for most, I didn’t have time!) on my Goodreads account.

A Deadly Education by Naomi Novik

I loved this book! I’m a big fantasy fan, and when I saw that it was set in a school it was hard to think I would end up comparing it to Harry Potter or perhaps Trudi Canavan’s Black Magician Trilogy, however I needn’t of worried. A Deadly Education felt really fresh and novel even though the setting might be somewhat familiar. The concept was interesting, the writing engaging and the narrator character was fun and it was enjoyable to be inside thier head! I also really enjoyed the second book, The Last Graduate and can’t wait to read the final book in the trilogy, The Golden Enclave, in the new year!

Borders and Belonging by Pádraig Ó Tuama & Glenn Jordan

The book of Ruth is one of my favourite books in the Bible, and so to read an Irish book written for the Irish and UK context on the book was enough by itself! The fact the book was brilliant only improved things! A narrative and thematic look at the book of Ruth in light of Brexit and the historical relationship between Ireland, Northern Ireland and the rest of the UK, it was an easy and enjoyable read. Lots of wisdom and insights and a different perspective on a famous story.

Why We Kneel, How We Rise by Michael Holding

I have reviewed this book in more detail previously, so I’ll be brief! A well-written, passionate and engaging look at racism throughout history and through the eyes of many famous names from sport. An educational book that, for me, achieved what Michael Holding wanted, I have begun and plan to continue to educate myself further.

The Girl and the Moon by Mark Lawrence

Mark Lawrence is one of my favourite authors, I read everything he writes and I’ve never been disappointed. It’s hard to review it in depth without spoilers so I’ll keep it brief. There’s twists I didn’t see coming in it, and I love the world of Abeth he’s created for this and the the Book of the Ancestor trilogy. I hope we get to visit again. Yaz is a great character, as all of his leads are, and the way he weaves storylines together makes the pay-off in concluding books like this so worth it!

God on Mute by Pete Greig

Our young adults group did the Prayer Course 2 from 24/7 Prayer earlier in the year, and I read this alongside that. This is a very readable and insightful book on a tough topic, what do we do when it feels like God isn’t there or listening to us? Pete Greig’s own personal experiences alongside other stories he tells makes it relatable and the wisdom and Biblical truths he lays out are outstanding. A book I imagine I will return to.

Athelstan: The Making of England by Tom Holland

I’m a card-carrying Tom Holland fan from his podcast, The Rest is History, but it was only this year that I’ve got around to reading a couple of his books. Part of the Penguin Monarchs series, this short book on Athelstan was a great read. I have really got back into history in the past couple of years and am loving exploring it from lots of different angles. Whilst some history books are daunting in their size and scope, this focussed look at Englands first (and greatest!) king was something I could consume in an evening, I’d highly recommend it! It not only made me want to read more by Tom but also look at some of the other titles in the series.

Restless Devices by Felicia Wu Song

The best Christian book I read this year on the topic of devices and our use of them. For my MA dissertation, I looked at smartphones and their impact on our faith and lives. The author brings a lot of what I’d been reading together in an easily readable and engaging way. There wasn’t too much that was new to me, but I will definitely recommend it as the first book people read if they’re interested in what technology is doing to our faith and church communities and for those who want to reflect more deeply on the issues. There are also plenty of practical tips but the real strength is in the questions the author poses throughout the chapters which, if people take the time to reflect themselves, could lead to significant changes in the way people engage with digital technologies and devices.

Leave a comment